Breaking Ground

Since my last post, I’ve been busy at work, steadily crossing items off my list.  I have yet to settle on a system.  However, I believe that a decision may be coming soon.

After mentioning that I enjoyed the Hero System, I had a few folks suggest checking out Savage Worlds.  After reading the free “Savage Worlds test drive”, I like the way it feels.  The character and ability creation is similar to Hero, while being “lighter” overall.  I’m still not certain about combat but I’m planning on trying a couple encounters this weekend.  If all goes well, I’ll have my answer.

Once that’s all set, I’ll be able populate my first adventure.  I have a short initial jaunt planned for my PCs.  If all goes as expected, it should give a dose of action, while also focusing on introducing role-playing.  With brand-new players, I’m feeling a bit of pressure to “hook them fast”.  It’s not like it would be the end of the world if they don’t get bit by the “gaming bug”.  However, any of you who are lucky enough to have a spouse or s/o who enjoys gaming, will understand why it is important to me.

With my first adventure ready and waiting, I proceeded to map out the surrounding area.  In all likelihood, this won’t be necessary for the first couple adventures.  On the other hand, I’ll be ready for any unexpected twists and turns.  Having the local geography at my fingertips will also help me to add a bit of extra flavor to my role-playing.  A traveler that they meet might complain about being slowed by “Wayland swamp to the west” or a couple of children might pass them, on their way to fish in “Pine creek”.  These are little details, but I want to do anything that I can do, to convince my players that this is a living and breathing place.

As I built the local area, I was also able to drop in little bits of local history.  Some of these just crossed my mind while I was making maps, others are bits that I’ve plucked from some of my old campaigns.  I don’t expect for a minute that these “tidbits” will all be discovered by my players.  They are there for now but may certainly be attached to other areas at a later time.

With things coming together, I sat down with my girlfriend last night to start the early parts of her character creation.  Now, to refresh you, she has never been anywhere near playing a role-playing game in the past.  I have seen people get “railroaded” into it before and it never ends well.  Because of that, I wouldn’t have even proposed it to her if I didn’t feel like she was genuinely interested.

She has listened intently over the past couple months, while I tried to describe what table-top role-playing was all about.  We have also been listening to the Critical-Hit* podcasts.  All in all, I think she’s got the general idea and seems to be very engaged in the process.

She knows that we’re looking at a fantasy setting but when we sat down last night, I asked her to put that out of her mind.  I instructed her to think about movies, books, and stories which had appealed to her over the years.  More importantly, I asked her to focus on characters that stood out to her.  These could be characters that she could relate to, or perhaps wished she could emulate them in a different life.

Considering that she’s a 40-year-old woman (shhh, don’t let on that I shared that), who nobody would confuse for a “fan-girl”, she provided me with some interesting names.  Lara Croft (Tomb Raider), Blade (Blade), Selene (Underworld), & Akasha (Queen of the Damned) were her results.

For the next hour, we sifted through what she liked about these characters.  We made a list of all the possible abilities & skills that might be applicable to our game.  Also, we took some time to think about possible disadvantages for her character.

By the end of the night, we had a rough sketch of the type of character that she would like to play.  She’s envisioning a mature, sexy, & street-smart “roguish” type.  She wants to be slinky, with the intention to avoid combat when she can, and fight dirty when she can’t.  Now its just a matter of plugging in numbers, once I’ve decided on the system.

Well, that’s all for now.  I’ll report back shortly.  Thanks for stopping by and good gaming!

* I made a reference to the Critical-Hit podcast.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, I would highly suggest checking it out.  Basically, it’s a weekly gaming group (playing D&D 4e) running a free podcast of their weekly games.  I’ve found it to be quite entertaining and fun to listen to while I’m driving around town. You can find them on iTunes or here:  http://www.majorspoilers.com/category/major-spoilers-podcast/critical-hit

4 Comments

Filed under New Campaign

4 responses to “Breaking Ground

  1. bonefather

    Another podcast I am a fan of is Pulp Gamers “out of Character” http://www.pulpgamer.com/outofcharacter/135230/pgoc-168-roleplay-and-the-law/ .

    • Thanks for the tip. I’ll certainly check it out. Even as a gamer, the thought of listening to someone’s game wasn’t very appealing to me. However, after listening to an episode on a road-trip, I was hooked.

      Now, I actually find myself looking forward to mowing the lawn, so I can listen to the next episode. Good stuff.

  2. Well now, quite an interesting read as wel! 🙂
    What are the systems that you have trouble choosing from? I myself am playing Pathfinder at the moment.

Leave a Reply

